RSCM crest
RSCM logo Oxfordshire
Psallam spiritu et mente

Easter Course 2005 for Boy and Girl Choristers

Course Music Lists

April 4th - 6th 2005

Course Director:

Peter Smith
Magdalen College School, Oxford

The Oxford Three-Day Course was this year filled with the largest number of choristers for at least a decade. Under the expert tuition of the four Housemasters, Messrs John Oxlade, Matthew O'Donovan, Richard Pinel, and Philip Aspden, the choristers learnt to sing a wide range of music over the three days. There were hymns, Easter carols, psalms, responses, a spiritual, and a challenging two-part Magnificat and Nunc dimittis by Herbert Sumsion, all presented with aplomb. The unison setting by George Dyson of George Herbert's Praise was twice sung with great conviction and obvious joy. Perhaps the most moving moments came in the beautifully expressive two-part anthem by John Ireland, Ex ore innocentium. The greatest satisfaction, however, might have come from mastering the demanding vocal lines of J.S. Bach's My heart ever faithful.

As well as improving their vocal technique, the choristers learnt to process with dignity and decorum under the watchful eye of the Head Chorister, Sarah Campbell, and the four House Captains. Each of the three days concluded with a service in the gracious surroundings of Magdalen College Chapel. Each lesson was well read by a different chorister, under the careful tutelage of the efficient and enthusiastic Course Administrator, Mr Philip Bowcock. Two scholarships to RSCM residential courses were awarded to choristers on the basis of their outstanding musical performance during this course. Then the best 33 of the choristers were chosen to sing Evensong in Christ Church Cathedral on Saturday 9th April, in which their proficiency and dedication rightly brought forth many complimentary comments.

Choristers chosen to sing Evensong at Christ Church Cathedral on Saturday 9th April:

Matthew Perry (Cookham Dean, St John the Baptist)
Katie McLean (Reading, Christ Church)
Naomi Phillips (Winkfield, St Mary)
Rebecca Phillips (Winkfield, St Mary)
Chloe Price (Wokingham, All Saints)
Michelle Sallis (Wokingham, All Saints) House Captain

Sarah Weaver (Aylesbury, St Mary)
Emma Dobson (Burnham, St Peter)
Joanna Dobson (Burnham, St Peter)
Jenny Bantick (Marlow, All Saints)
Jessica Kirby (Marlow, All Saints)
Thomas Smart (Marlow, All Saints)

Alice Hughes (Blewbury, St Michael) House Captain
Rebecca Hughes (Blewbury, St Michael) House Captain
Kimberley Marshall (Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, St Agatha)
Nicola Campbell (Didcot, All Saints)
Sarah Campbell (Didcot, All Saints) Head Chorister
Kathryn Telford (East Hagbourne, St Andrew)
Ian Middleton (Goring, St Thomas of Canterbury)
James Hardwick (Goring, St Thomas of Canterbury)
Thea Swan (Goring, St Thomas of Canterbury)
Nicolas Ereaut (Letcombe Regis, St Andrew)
James Allen (Radley College)
Peter Norris (Radley College)
Tara Scott (Radley, St James the Great)
Carolin Southern (Rotherfield Peppard, All Saints)
James Bell (Rotherfield Peppard, All Saints)
Amy Dow (Wallingford, St Mary-le-More)
Polly Dow (Wallingford, St Mary-le-More)
Katherine Sladden (Wallingford St Mary-le-More)
Peter Griffin (Wallingford, St Mary-le-More)
George Jestico (Wantage, SS Peter & Paul)
Alissa Cooper (Wootton, St Peter)

Winners of scholarships to RSCM Residential Courses
Jenny Bantick (Marlow, All Saints)
Nicolas Ereaut (Letcombe Regis, St Andrew)

Churches and chapels who sent choristers on the course

Cookham Dean, St John the Baptist (4)
Crowthorne, St John (1)
Hungerford, St Lawrence (6)
Reading, Christ Church (4)
Winkfield, St Mary (4)
Wokingham, All Saints (8)

Aylesbury, St Mary (6)
Burnham, St Peter (2)
Marlow, All Saints (5)

Blewbury, St Michael (2)
Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, St Agatha (2)
Didcot, All Saints (3)
East Hagbourne, St Andrew (2)
Goring, St Thomas of Canterbury (6)
Islip, St Nicolas (6)
Kidmore End, St John (1)
Letcombe Regis, St Andrew (2)
Oxford, St Giles (2)
Radley College (6)
Radley, St James the Great (3)
Rotherfield Peppard, All Saints (5)
Wallingford, St Mary-le-More (8)
Wantage, SS Peter & Paul (10)
Wootton, St Peter (1)

Eaton Bray, St Mary the Virgin (3)

Peter D. Smith, Course Director

About us | Area Awards | Choristers' Prayer | Contact us | Deputies | Events | Events Archive | Festivals Archive | Headquarters | Links | Membership | Salary Scales | Site Map | Vacancies
©2005 RSCM Oxfordshire/Cynthia Hall